Workshops

CMAC offers a variety of video production workshops for our members. Before you sign-up for a workshop, you should go through orientation. Orientation is free, open to the public, and typically happens once a month at the beginning of the month. Orientation can also be completed online by clicking here.

After completing Orientation, if you haven’t already, you should pay your CMAC membership dues. This is required before you can sign-up for any workshops. Membership dues can be paid online or in-person at our media center. Call 559-266-2622 or email info@cmac.tv if you need assistance.

General Policies
You must sign-up in advance of the workshop. No walk-ups are allowed, except for Orientation. All workshops take place at our media center at 1555 Van Ness Ave in downtown Fresno. Please do not arrive earlier than 15 minutes before the designated time. If it is a weekday evening, the door will be locked 15 minutes after the workshop starts, so please be on time. You can sign-up by calling 559-266-2622 or emailing info@cmac.tv and indicating which workshop(s) you’re interested in.

Orientation (open to non-members)
Find out what CMAC has to offer. We will give you an overview of our channels, services and policies – plus answer your questions. This is a great opportunity to tell us how we can help you make the best use of your community media center.

Tuesday, February 6, 2 to 4pm

Pre-Production
Explore strategies to effectively plan a community access television show in our studio or on location. Topics include idea generation, script writing, rundowns, underwriting, legal issues, production and post-production options. Also learn the forms that CMAC requires for production made with CMAC equipment and facilities.

Wednesday, January 3, 6 to 8pm

Thursday, February 8, 2 to 4pm

Thursday, March 8, 6 to 8pm

Promote Your Show
Learn how to better promote your show online and on CMAC’s channels using social media campaigns, trailers, public service announcements and flyers! Also learn how to appear on more search engines with effective titles and descriptions for your show.

Wednesday, January 24, 2 to 4pm

iOS Video Production
The best camera is the one that you have with you. Learn how to shoot and edit video with iOS mobile devices. Check out a CMAC Mobile Production Kit or bring your own iPhone or iPad with the iMovie app installed. Exercises in shooting and editing on the iOS platform.

Tuesday, January 9, 6 to 9pm

Tuesday, February 13, 2 to 5pm

Monday, March 12, 6 to 9pm

Field Production (2 parts)
Hands-on introduction to filming on-location, including proper setup and breakdown of the camera, audio, and lighting equipment, camerawork, basic interviewing tips, and planning for post-production.

Part 1: Wednesday, January 10, 6 to 9pm
Part 2: Thursday, January 11, 6 to 9pm

Part 1: Wednesday, February 14, 2 to 5pm
Part 2: Thursday, February 15, 2 to 5pm

Part 1: Tuesday, March 13, 6 to 9pm
Part 2: Wednesday, March 14, 6 to 9pm

Post Production: Final Cut Pro
Learn the basics of Final Cut Pro. A powerful video editor for quick editing and great results. Covers the basics of importing, editing, effecting, and exporting. Certification is required for reserving CMAC edit stations. Workshop requires basic computer skills.

Tuesday, January 16, 6 to 9pm

Tuesday, February 20, 2 to 5pm

Tuesday, March 20, 6 to 9pm

Post Production: Premiere (2 parts)
Learn the basics of Adobe Premiere. Covers concepts of non-linear editing: making cuts, adding music and simple effects. Certification is required for reserving CMAC edit stations. Workshop requires basic computer skills.

Part 1: Wednesday, January 17, 6 to 9pm
Part 2: Thursday, January 18, 6 to 9pm

Part 1: Tuesday, February 21, 2 to 5pm
Part 2: Wednesday, February 22, 2 to 5pm

Part 1: Wednesday, March 21, 6 to 9pm
Part 2: Thursday, March 22, 6 to 9pm

Studio Production (3 parts)
How to produce a show in the CMAC television studio. Hands-on experience needed to safely operate a video camera in our studio. Also practical skills on the video switcher, audio board, teleprompter, and simple graphics.

Part 1: Tuesday, January 23, 6 to 9pm
Part 2: Wednesday, January 24, 6 to 9pm
Part 3: Thursday, January 25, 6 to 9pm

Part 1: Tuesday, February 27, 2 to 5pm
Part 2: Wednesday, February 28, 2 to 5pm
Part 3: Thursday, March 1, 2 to 5pm

Part 1: Tuesday, March 27, 6 to 9pm
Part 2: Wednesday, March 28, 6 to 9pm
Part 3: Thursday, March 29, 6 to 9pm

Pro Audio with Zack Allen
Dive deeper into recording audio for video with sound recordist, Zack Allen. Get questions answered and hands on experience in a production environment. Prerequisite: Field or Studio Production.

Tuesday, January 30, 6 to 9pm

Audio for Video
Can you hear me now? Learn the different types of microphones available to you for both studio and field production. Learn about microphone placement, choices, types, and proper technique to help give you the best sound recording possible for your video. Prerequisite: Field or Studio Production.

TBA

Screenwriting
Find out what it takes to conceptualize a short film from start to finish, including basic terminology and formats used in screenwriting, step-by-step story development and narrative techniques.

TBD

Mobile Production Vehicle
Want to utilize the Mobile Production Vehicle? This training is by appointment only, and available to members who have completed Field and Studio training. Email cesar@cmac.tv.

CMAC Events

Studio Production workshop
• Tues, Jan 23, Wed, Jan 24 & Thurs, Jan 25 - 6pm-9pm

Promote Your Show workshop
• Wed, Jan 24 - 2pm-4pm

Pro Audio workshop
• Tues, Jan 30 - 6pm-9pm

ArtHop 
• Thurs, Feb 1 - 5pm-8pm

Orientation
• Tues, Feb 6 - 2pm-4pm

Producers Meet Up Group
• Wed, Feb 7 - 6pm-8pm

Pre-Production workshop
• Thurs, Feb 8 - 2pm-4pm

iOS Production workshop
• Tues, Feb 13 - 2pm-5pm

Field Production workshop
• Wed, Feb 14 & Thurs, Feb 15 - 2pm-5pm

Post-Production: Premiere workshop
• Wed, Feb 21 & Thurs, Feb 22 - 2pm-5pm

Social Media
Email Updates
Sign up below to receive CMAC email updates.