CMAC offers a variety of video production workshops for our members. Before you sign-up for a workshop, you should sign up for a membership and complete our Online Orientation.

After completing Orientation, if you haven’t already, you should pay your CMAC membership dues. This is required before you can sign-up for any workshops. Membership dues can be paid online or in-person at our media center. Call 559-266-2622 or email if you need assistance.

General Policies
You must sign-up in advance of the workshop. No walk-ups are allowed, except for Orientation. All workshops take place at our media center at 1555 Van Ness Ave in downtown Fresno unless specified. Please do not arrive earlier than 15 minutes before the designated time. You can sign-up by calling 559-266-2622 or emailing and indicating which workshop(s) you’re interested in.

Find out what CMAC has to offer. Get an overview of our channels, services and policies.

Complete our Online Orientation here.

Explore strategies to effectively plan a community access television show in our studio or on location. Topics include idea generation, script writing, rundowns, underwriting, legal issues, production and post-production options. Also learn the forms that CMAC requires for production made with CMAC equipment and facilities.

Tue, Apr 3, 2-5pm

Tue, May 1,  6-9pm

iOS Video Production
The best camera is the one that you have with you. Learn how to shoot and edit video with iOS mobile devices. Check out a CMAC Mobile Production Kit or bring your own iPhone or iPad with the iMovie app installed. Exercises in shooting and editing on the iOS platform.

Mon, March 12, 6-9pm

Tue, Apr 10, 2-5pm

Tue, May 18, 6-9pm

Field Production (2 parts)
Hands-on introduction to filming on-location, including proper setup and breakdown of the camera, audio, and lighting equipment, camerawork, basic interviewing tips, and planning for post-production.

Part 1: Tue, March 13, 6-9pm
Part 2: Wed, March 14, 6-9pm

Part 1: Wed, Apr 11, 2-5pm
Part 2: Thu, Apr 12, 2-5pm

Part 1: Wed, May 9, 6-9pm
Part 2: Thu, May 10, 6-9pm

Post Production: Final Cut Pro
Learn the basics of Final Cut Pro. A powerful video editor for quick editing and great results. Covers the basics of importing, editing, effecting, and exporting. Certification is required for reserving CMAC edit stations. Workshop requires basic computer skills.

Tue, March 20, 6-9pm

Mon, Apr 16, 2-5pm

Tue, May 15, 6-9pm

Post Production: Premiere (2 parts)
Learn the basics of Adobe Premiere. Covers concepts of non-linear editing: making cuts, adding music and simple effects. Certification is required for reserving CMAC edit stations. Workshop requires basic computer skills.

Part 1: Wed, March 21, 6-9pm
Part 2: Thu, March 22, 6-9pm

Part 1: Tue, Apr 17, 2-5pm
Part 2: Wed, Apr 18, 2-5pm

Part 1: Wed, May 16, 6-9pm
Part 2: Thu, May 17, 6-9pm

Studio Production (3 parts)
How to produce a show in the CMAC television studio. Hands-on experience needed to safely operate a video camera in our studio. Also practical skills on the video switcher, audio board, teleprompter, and simple graphics.

Part 1: Tue, March 27, 6-9pm
Part 2: Wed, March 28, 6-9pm
Part 3: Thu, March 29, 6-9pm

Part 1: Tue, Apr 24, 2-5pm
Part 2: Wed, Apr 25, 2-5pm
Part 3: Thu, Apr 26, 2-5pm

Part 1: Tue, May 22, 6-9pm
Part 2: Wed, May 23, 6-9pm
Part 3: Thu, May 24, 6-9pm

Aerial Videography
Are you planning your first flight with a unmanned aerial vehicle? Learn the basics of aerial rules and regulations and how to get through the first steps, start the quadcopter, bring it up in the air, get first flight-experience!

Mon, March 26, 6-9pm

Photo Editing for Video
Videos are just a series of photos over sound. Learn how to leverage tools used traditionally by photographers and graphic designers  to enhance video projects.

Thu, Apr 5, 2-5pm

Documentary Filmmaking
Do you have a non-fiction story to tell? Learn about the different types of documentaries and how to leverage them in telling your story. Also learn about what to expect in Pre-Production, Production, and Post-Production for a documentary.

Tue, May 29, 6-9pm

Audio for Video
Can you hear me now? Learn the different types of microphones available to you for both studio and field production. Learn about microphone placement, choices, types, and proper technique to help give you the best sound recording possible for your video. Prerequisite: Field or Studio Production.


Find out what it takes to conceptualize a short film from start to finish, including basic terminology and formats used in screenwriting, step-by-step story development and narrative techniques.


Promote Your Show
Learn how to better promote your show online and on CMAC’s channels using social media campaigns, trailers, public service announcements and flyers. Also learn how to appear on more search engines with effective titles and descriptions for your show.


Mobile Production Vehicle
Want to utilize the Mobile Production Vehicle? This training is by appointment only, and available to members who have completed Field and Studio training. Email for more information.

CMAC Events

iOS Video Production
• Mon, March 12 - 6pm-9pm

Field Production
• Tues, March 13 & Wed, March 14 - 6pm-9pm

Mobile Production Vehicle Q&A
• Tues, March 20 - 6pm-8pm

Post-Production: Final Cut Pro
• Tues, March 20 - 6pm-9pm

Post-Production: Premiere Pro
• Wed, March 21 & Thurs, March 22 - 6pm-9pm

Aerial Videography
• Mon, March 26 - 6pm-9pm

Studio Production
• Tues - Thurs, March 27, 28, & 29 - 6pm-9pm

• Tues, April 3 - 2pm-5pm

Photo Editing for Video
• Thurs, April 5 - 2pm-5pm

Social Media
Email Updates
Sign up below to receive CMAC email updates.