Workshops

CMAC offers a variety of video production workshops for our members. Before you sign-up for a workshop, you should sign up for a membership and watch our Online Orientation.

After completing Orientation, if you haven’t already, you should pay your CMAC membership dues. This is required before you can sign-up for any workshops. Membership dues can be paid online or in-person at our media center. Call 559-266-2622 or email info@cmac.tv if you need assistance.

General Policies
You must sign-up in advance of the workshop. No walk-ups are allowed, except for Orientation. All workshops take place at our media center at 1555 Van Ness Ave in downtown Fresno unless specified. Please do not arrive earlier than 15 minutes before the designated time. You can sign-up by calling 559-266-2622 or emailing info@cmac.tv and indicating which workshop(s) you’re interested in.

Orientation
Find out what CMAC has to offer. Get an overview of our channels, services and policies. Watch our Online Orientation here.

Pre-Production
Explore strategies to effectively plan a community access television show in our studio or on location. Topics include idea generation, script writing, rundowns, underwriting, legal issues, production and post-production options. Also learn the forms that CMAC requires for production made with CMAC equipment and facilities.

Wed, Sept 5, 6–9pm

Wed, Oct 2, 2–5pm

Field Production (2 parts)
Hands-on introduction to filming on-location, including proper setup and breakdown of the camera, audio, and lighting equipment, camerawork, basic interviewing tips, and planning for post-production.

Part 1: Tue, Aug 7, 2–5pm
Part 2: Wed, Aug 8, 2–5pm

Part 1: Tue, Sept 11, 6–9pm
Part 2: Wed, Sept 12, 6–9pm

Part 1: Tue, Oct 9, 2–5pm
Part 2: Wed, Oct 10, 2–5pm

iOS Video Production
The best camera is the one that you have with you. Learn how to shoot and edit video with iOS mobile devices. Check out a CMAC Mobile Production Kit or bring your own iPhone or iPad with the iMovie app installed. Exercises in shooting and editing on the iOS platform.

Thu, Aug 9, 2–5pm

Thu, Sept 13, 6–9pm

Thu, Oct 11, 2–5pm

Post Production: Final Cut Pro
Learn the basics of Final Cut Pro. A powerful video editor for quick editing and great results. Covers the basics of importing, editing, effecting, and exporting. Certification is required for reserving CMAC edit stations. Workshop requires basic computer skills.

Fri, Aug 10, 2–5pm

Thu, Sept 20, 6–9pm

Thu, Oct 18, 2–5pm

Post Production: Premiere (2 parts)
Learn the basics of Adobe Premiere. Covers concepts of non-linear editing: making cuts, adding music and simple effects. Certification is required for reserving CMAC edit stations. Workshop requires basic computer skills.

Part 1: Tue, Aug 14, 2–5pm
Part 2: Wed, Aug 15, 2–5pm

Part 1: Tue, Sept 18, 6–9pm
Part 2: Wed, Sept 19, 6–9pm

Part 1: Tue, Oct 16, 2–5pm
Part 2: Wed, Oct 17, 2–5pm

Studio Production (3 parts)
How to produce a show in the CMAC television studio. Hands-on experience needed to safely operate a video camera in our studio. Also practical skills on the video switcher, audio board, teleprompter, and simple graphics.

Part 1: Tue, Aug 21, 2–5pm
Part 2: Wed, Aug 22, 2–5pm
Part 3: Thu, Aug 23, 2–5pm

Part 1: Tue, Sept 25, 6-9pm
Part 2: Wed, Sept 26, 6-9pm
Part 3: Thu, Sept 27, 6-9pm

Part 1: Tue, Oct 23, 2–5pm
Part 2: Wed, Oct 24, 2–5pm
Part 3: Thu, Oct 25, 2–5pm

Directing Actors w/ Leslie Martin
Professor Leslie Martin brings her directing expertise to CMAC to share how to work with actors in a production environment.

Thu, Aug 9, 6–8pm

Documentary Filmmaking
Do you have a nonfiction story to tell? Learn about the different types of documentaries and how to leverage them in telling your story. Also learn about what to expect in Pre-Production, Production, and Post-Production for a documentary.

Thu, Aug 16, 6–8pm

Screenwriting
Find out what it takes to conceptualize a short film from start to finish, including basic terminology and formats used in screenwriting, step-by-step story development and narrative techniques.

Thu, Oct 4, 2–4pm

Audio for Video
Can you hear me now? Learn the different types of microphones available to you for both studio and field production. Learn about microphone placement, choices, types, and proper technique to help give you the best sound recording possible for your video. Prerequisite: Field or Studio Production.

TBA

Promote Your Show
Learn how to better promote your show online and on CMAC’s channels using social media campaigns, trailers, public service announcements and flyers. Also learn how to appear on more search engines with effective titles and descriptions for your show.

TBA

Photo Editing for Video
Videos are just a series of photos over sound. Learn how to leverage tools used traditionally by photographers and graphic designers  to enhance video projects.

TBA

Aerial Videography
Are you planning your first flight with a unmanned aerial vehicle? Learn the basics of aerial rules and regulations and how to get through the first steps, start the quadcopter, bring it up in the air, get first flight-experience!

TBA

Mobile Production Vehicle
Want to utilize the Mobile Production Vehicle? This training is by appointment only, and available to members who have completed Field and Studio training. Email cesar@cmac.tv for more information.

Private Training
Can’t make it to one of our regularly scheduled workshops? Don’t worry, we offer private training! For a small fee we can customize a training schedule that will work best for you or your organization. Reach out to our Training Coordinator Kyle Lowe at kyle@cmac.tv or 559-266-2622 for more information.

CMAC Events

Studio Production
• Tues - Thur, Aug 21, 22, & 23 - 2pm-5pm

Pre Production
• Wed, Sept 5 - 6pm-9pm
Social Media
Email Updates
Sign up below to receive CMAC email updates.