Training

CMAC offers a variety of video production workshops. The first step before you can sign-up is to attend orientation. Orientation is free, open to the public, and typically happens once a month at the beginning of the month.

Once you’re done with orientation, if you haven’t already, you should pay your CMAC membership dues. This is required before you can sign-up for any other workshops. Membership dues can be paid online or in-person at our media center. Call 559-266-2622 or email info@cmac.tv if you need assistance.

General Policies
You must sign-up in advance of the workshop. No walk-ups are allowed, except for orientation. All workshops take place at our media center at 1555 Van Ness Ave in downtown Fresno. Please do not arrive earlier than 15 minutes before class time. If it is a weekday evening, the front door will be locked 15 minutes after the workshop starts, so please be on time.

Orientation (open to non-members)
Find out what CMAC has to offer. We will give you an overview of our channels, services and policies – plus answer your questions. This is a great opportunity to tell us how we can help you make the best use of your community media center. Orientation is mandatory for all CMAC members.

Tuesday, December 6 – 6 to 8 p.m.

Wednesday, January 4 – 6 to 8 p.m.


Basic Workshops

Pre-Production
Explore strategies to effectively plan a community access television show in our studio or on location. Topics include idea generation, script writing, rundowns, underwriting, legal issues, production and post-production options.

Thursday, December 8 – 6 to 8 p.m.

Thursday, January 5 – 6 to 8 p.m.

Field Production (2 parts)
Hands-on introduction to filming on-location, including proper set-up and break-down of the equipment, camerawork, lighting, audio techniques, basic interviewing tips, and planning for post-production.

Part 1: Tuesday, December 13 – 2 to 5 p.m.
Part 2: Wednesday, December 14 – 2 to 5 p.m.

Part 1: Wednesday, January 11 – 6 to 9 p.m.
Part 2: Thursday, January 12 – 6 to 9 p.m.

Editing (2 parts)
Learn basic concepts of non-linear editing by navigating menus, making cuts and dissolves, and adding narration, music and simple effects. Certification is required for anyone who would like to reserve Edit Suites at no charge. Class requires basic computer skills.

Part 1: Tuesday, December 20 – 2 to 5 p.m.
Part 2: Wednesday, December 21 – 2 to 5 p.m.

Part 1: Tuesday, January 17 – 6 to 9 p.m.
Part 2: Wednesday, January 18 – 6 to 9 p.m.

Studio Production (3 parts)
Get the hands-on experience you need to safely operate a video camera in our studio. You will also learn practical skills on the video switcher, audio board and teleprompter – as well as simple graphics..

Part 1: Tuesday, January 24 – 6 to 9 p.m.
Part 2: Wednesday, January 25 – 6 to 9 p.m.
Part 3: Thursday, January 26 – 6 to 9 p.m.


Special Workshops

iOS Field Production
The best camera is the one that you have with you. Learn how to shoot and edit with iOS mobile devices. Bring your own iPhone or iPad or check out a CMAC Mobile Kit.

Monday, December 12 – 2 to 5 p.m.

Tuesday, January 10 – 6 to 9 p.m.

iMovie
Learn the basics of iMovie. A simple, yet powerful video editor for quick editing and great results. This crash course will cover the basics of importing, editing, effecting, and exporting. Class requires basic computer skills.

Monday, December 19 – 2 to 5 p.m.

Monday, January 16 – 6 to 9 p.m.

Mobile Production Vehicle
Want to utilize our new Mobile Production Vehicle? You will need to be certified in Studio and Field Production first, but after that, you’re ready to sign-up!

This training is by appointment only. Email cesar@cmac.tv.

Screenwriting
Find out what it takes to conceptualize a short film from start to finish, including basic terminology and formats used in screenwriting, step-by-step story development and narrative techniques.

Monday, January 9 – 6 to 9 p.m.

 

CMAC Events

Editing w/ Premiere Pro workshop
• Tues, Nov 22 & Weds, Nov 23 - 6pm-9pm

CMAC Closed
• Thurs, Nov 24 - Sat, Nov 26

Studio Production workshop
• Mon, Nov 28; Tues, Nov 29 & Weds, Nov 30 - 6pm-9pm

Member Orientation
• Tues, Dec 6 - 6pm-8pm

Pre-Production workshop
• Thurs, Dec 8 - 6pm-8pm

iOS Production workshop
• Mon, Dec 12 - 2pm-5pm

Field Production workshop
• Tues, Dec 13 & Weds, Dec 14 - 2pm-5pm

Social Media
Email Updates
Sign up below to receive CMAC email updates.