Classes

CMAC offers a variety of video production classes. The first step before you can sign-up for a class is to attend orientation. Orientation is free, open to the public, and typically happens once a month at the beginning of the month.

Once you’re done with orientation, if you haven’t already, you should pay your CMAC membership dues. This is required before you can sign-up for any other classes. Membership dues can be paid online or in-person at our media center. Call 559-266-2622 or email info@cmac.tv if you need assistance.

General Class Policies
You must sign-up in advance of the class. No walk-ups are allowed, except for orientation. All classes take place at our media center at 1555 Van Ness Ave in downtown Fresno. Please do not arrive earlier than 15 minutes before class time. If it is a weekday evening class, the front door will be locked 15 minutes after class starts, so please be on time.

Orientation (open to non-members)
Find out what CMAC has to offer. We will give you an overview of our channels, services and policies – plus answer your questions. This is a great opportunity to tell us how we can help you make the best use of your community media center. Orientation is mandatory for all CMAC members.

Monday, August 1 – 6 to 8 p.m.

Tuesday, September 6 – 6 to 8 p.m.


Basic Classes

Pre-Production
Explore strategies to effectively plan a community access television show in our studio or on location. Topics include idea generation, script writing, rundowns, underwriting, legal issues, production and post-production options.

Wednesday, August 3 – 6 to 8 p.m.

Thursday, September 8 – 6 to 8 p.m.

Studio Production (3 parts)
Get the hands-on experience you need to safely operate a video camera in our studio. You will also learn practical skills on the video switcher, audio board and teleprompter – as well as simple graphics..

Part 1: Tuesday, August 23 – 2 to 5 p.m.
Part 2: Wednesday, August 24 – 2 to 5 p.m.
Part 3: Thursday, August 25 – 2 to 5 p.m.

Part 1: Tuesday, September 27 – 6 to 9 p.m.
Part 2: Wednesday, September 28 – 6 to 9 p.m.
Part 3: Thursday, September 29 – 6 to 9 p.m.

Field Production (2 parts)
Hands-on introduction to filming on-location, including proper set-up and break-down of the equipment, camerawork, lighting, audio techniques, basic interviewing tips, and planning for post-production.

Part 1: Tuesday, August 9 – 2 to 5 p.m.
Part 2: Wednesday, August 10 – 2 to 5 p.m.

Part 1: Tuesday, September 13 – 6 to 9 p.m.
Part 2: Wednesday, September 14 – 6 to 9 p.m.

Editing (2 parts)
Learn basic concepts of non-linear editing by navigating menus, making cuts and dissolves, and adding narration, music and simple effects. Certification is required for anyone who would like to reserve Edit Suites at no charge. Class requires basic computer skills.

Part 1: Tuesday, August 16 – 2 to 5 p.m.
Part 2: Wednesday, August 17 – 2 to 5 p.m.

Part 1: Wednesday, September 21 – 6 to 9 p.m.
Part 2: Thursday, September 22 – 6 to 9 p.m.


Special Classes

Final Cut Pro
Learn the basics of Final Cut Pro. A simple, yet powerful video editor for quick editing and great results. This crash course will cover the basics of importing, editing, effecting, and exporting. Class requires basic computer skills.

Tuesday, September 20 – 6 to 9 p.m.

Mobile Production Vehicle
Want to utilize our new Mobile Production Vehicle? You will need to be certified in Studio and Field Production first, but after that, you’re ready to sign-up!

This class is by appointment only. Email cesar@cmac.tv.

Screenwriting
Find out what it takes to conceptualize a short film from start to finish, including basic terminology and formats used in screenwriting, step-by-step story development and narrative techniques. Prerequisite: Producing.

Thursday, August 11 – 2 to 5 p.m.

 

CMAC Events

Field Production class
• Tues, Aug 9 & Weds, Aug 10 - 2pm-5pm

Screenwriting class
• Thurs, Aug 11 - 2pm-5pm

Editing class
• Tues, Aug 16 & Weds, Aug 17 - 2pm-5pm

Member Mixer
• Thurs, Aug 18 - 6pm-8pm

Studio Production class
• Tues, Aug 23; Weds, Aug 24 & Thurs, Aug 25 - 2pm-5pm

Orientation
• Tues, Sept 6 - 6pm-8pm

CMAC Voices
• Tues, Sept 6 - 6pm-8pm

Pre-Production class
• Thurs, Sept 8 - 6pm-8pm

Social Media
Email Updates
Sign up below to receive CMAC email updates.