Classes

You must attend orientation and become a CMAC member before registering for any classes. To register please call 559-266-2622 or email us at info@cmac.tv. No walk-ups are allowed. All classes take place at our Community Media Center at 1555 Van Ness Ave in downtown Fresno. Please do not arrive earlier than 15 minutes before class time. If it is a weekday evening class, the front door will be locked 15 minutes after class starts.

Orientation (open to non-members)
Find out what CMAC has to offer. We will give you an overview of our channels, services and policies – plus answer your questions. This is a great opportunity to tell us how we can help you make the best use of your community media center. Orientation is mandatory for all CMAC members.

Tuesday, January 6 – 6 to 8 p.m.


Basic Classes

Producing
Explore strategies to effectively plan a community access television show in our studio or on location. Topics include pre-production, rundowns, underwriting, legal issues and post-production options. Producing is required for anyone who would like to checkout CMAC field equipment or reserve our studio. Prerequisite: Orientation.

Wednesday, January 7 – 6 to 8 p.m.

Studio Production (2 parts)
Get the hands-on experience you need to safely operate a video camera in our studio. You will also learn practical skills on the video switcher, audio board and teleprompter – as well as simple graphics. Prerequisite: Producing.

Part 1: Tuesday, January 13 – 6 to 9 p.m.
Part 2: Wednesday, January 14 – 6 to 9 p.m.

Field Production (2 parts)
Hands-on introduction to filming on-location, including proper set-up and break-down of the equipment, camerawork, lighting, audio techniques, basic interviewing tips, and planning for post-production. Prerequisite: Producing.

Part 1: Tuesday, December 16 – 6 to 9 p.m.
Part 2: Wednesday, December 17 – 6 to 9 p.m.

Part 1: Tuesday, January 20 – 6 to 9 p.m.
Part 2: Wednesday, January 21 – 6 to 9 p.m.

Editing (2 parts)
Learn basic concepts of non-linear editing by navigating menus, making cuts and dissolves, and adding narration, music and simple effects. Certification is required for anyone who would like to reserve Edit Suites at no charge. Class requires basic computer skills.

Part 1: Monday, December 22 – 6 to 9 p.m.
Part 2: Tuesday, December 23 – 6 to 9 p.m.

Part 1: Wednesday, January 28 – 6 to 9 p.m.
Part 2: Thursday, January 29 – 6 to 9 p.m.


Advanced Classes

Audio Recording & Mixing
Can you hear me now? Nothing hurts a production more than poor sound, so we’ve designed a class to help provide you with a deeper understanding of the audio process. In this course you’ll learn about proper microphone technique, the most appropriate way to use all the mics we have at CMAC, and how to effectively process sound through our audio board. To assist your learning we’ve designed a few “interesting” exercises to demonstrate how the approach varies depending on whether you’re producing a talk show, drama or musical performance. Prerequisite: Studio & Field Production.

Thursday, January 22 – 6 to 9 p.m.

Mobile Production Vehicle
Want to utilize our new Mobile Production Vehicle? You will need to be certified in Studio and Field Production first, but after that, you’re ready to sign-up!

This class is by appointment only. Contact MPV Engineer Andrew Toschi at andrew@cmac.tv.

 

Calendar

Field Production class
• Tue, Dec 16 & Wed, Dec 17 - 6-9pm

Member Mixer
• Thu, Dec 18 - 6-8pm

Editing class
• Mon, Dec 22 & Tue, Dec 23 - 6-9pm

Closed for Holidays
• Thu, Dec 25 - Sat, Dec 27
• Thu, Jan 1 - Sat, Jan 3

Orientation
• Tue, Jan 6 - 6-8pm

Producing class
• Wed, Jan 7 - 6-8pm

Social Media
     
Email Updates
Sign up below to receive CMAC email updates.
Community Media Access Collaborative